1. Home
  2. Quick Answers
  3. Remote Teaching
  4. How do I add module leaders to a YouTube brand account?

How do I add module leaders to a YouTube brand account?

This guidance applies to: Programme Leads

We recommend talking to your programme lead who can set up a brand account for the whole programme (they will be owner of the Programme YouTube account) and add individual module leaders as managers.

  1. Go to YouTube Studio.
  2. From the top-right hand corner make sure you are acting as the brand account you created above. If you are not sure, click on the account icon and make sure that the Programme title appears at the top (Figure 1).
Screenshot from studio.youtube.com that shows the dropdown menu in the top-right hand corner.
Figure 1. Switch to your Programme’s brand account from the top-right hand corner.
  1. If the Programme title doesn’t appear at the top, click Switch Account and choose the brand account you created from the list (Figure 2).
Screenshot from studio.youtube.com that shows the dropdown menu in the top-right hand corner and the brand account highlighted in yellow.
Figure 2. Choose your programme’s brand account from the Switch Account dropdown menu.
  1. Go to Permissions.
  1. Click Manage Permissions (Figure 3).
Figure 3. Manage Permissions (blue button) in the Permissions screen.

Note: Clicking Manage Permissions the first time will ask you to log in using your p number and Brookes password. This is to ensure that it’s a Brookes user who is making changes to the account.

  1. Click the Invite new users from the top right to invite your module leaders, co-teachers (Figure 4).
Figure 4. The invite new users is located in the top-right hand corner.
  1. Type the p numbers of the module leaders you wish to add, choose Manager or Editor and click Invite.
Figure 5. Type your colleagues’ p number and choose their role.

What does each role do?

Manager: Can add or remove others and edit channel details. And upload, edit, publish and delete videos. Can’t delete the channel.
Editor: Can upload and edit videos, and delete draft videos. Can’t add or remove others, delete published videos or the channel, or enter into contracts.
Viewer: Can view (but not edit) channel details.
Viewer (limited): Can view (but not edit) channel details except revenue information.

Updated on August 10, 2020

Was this article helpful?